top of page

The National Flag Day

National Flag Day: Presidential Proclamation No. 374, s. 1965. (May 28 - June 12, 2024)
Courtesy: Taytay PIO

Every year from May 28 to June 12, the Philippines observes the National Flag Days. In remembrance of the victory over the Spanish, it is celebrated as a national holiday in the Philippines. The first-ever raising of the flag and the establishment of the nation's first republic took place in 1898.

The flag continues to be a representation of nationalism and patriotism, and throughout the oppressive colonial era in the Philippines, it served as a sign of hope. Throughout this time, it is urged for all Filipinos to display the Philippine flag in all public spaces, including residences, business establishments, schools, and government buildings.

The most powerful visual presentation of the nation's common heritage, symbolizing the country's sovereignty and national solidarity. Its layout and color represent the following:

  • The Blue Stripe - Represents the blood spilt for freedom and independence.

  • The Red Stripe - It symbolizes Patriotism and Justice.

  • The White Stripe - Stands for Peace and Purity.

  • The Three Stars - Originally symbolizes "the principal island of the archipelago" at the time namely Luzon, Visayas, Panay, not the major island groups of Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao that the stars symbolize today.

  • The SunIt represents independence and its eight rays represent the eight (8) provinces that led the Philippine uprising against Spanish Rule - Manila, Bulacan, Cavite, Pampanga, Tarlac, Laguna, Batangas, and Nueva Ecija.

Taytayeños! Let's celebrate paying tribute to those fought for our freedom and future.


bottom of page